Throughout the First World War, the many announcements of British and Commonwealth gallantry awards appeared in the various issues of The London Gazette. As part of our major monthly series covering the period of the Great War commemorations, we examine some of the actions involved and summarise all of the awards announced in March 1917.

The first six recipients at the Hyde Park ceremony in June 1917. From left to right they are Major Henry Murray DSO and Bar, Lieutenant- Colonel James Forbes- Robertson (awarded the DSO and MC), Captain Ambrose Peck (DSO), Captain Edward Evans (DSO), Lieutenant- Colonel Agar Adamson (DSO), and Lieutenant- Colonel Albert Fewtrell (DSO). (HISTORIC MILITARY PRESS)

THE AFTERNOON of 2 June 1917 saw one of the largest investiture ceremonies ever seen in Hyde Park in London. The first individual to be presented to the King was Major Henry Murray, Australian Imperial Force. In its biography of ‘Mad Harry’ Murray, the Australian War Memorial calls him ‘the most highly decorated soldier in the Australian army; dashing, brave and handsome, Murray rose from the ranks to command a battalion’. The account goes on to state:

Want to read more?

This is a premium article and requires an active subscription.

Existing subscriber? Sign in now

No subscription?

Pick one of our introductory offers