The Victoria Cross

The Victoria Cross traces its history back to the Crimean War and has become one of the most admired and prized medals in military history.

For Valour

The Victoria Cross (VC) is the highest award within the United Kingdom honours system. Since it was introduced in 1856 the VC has been awarded 1,358 times to 1,355 individual recipients.

The VC is awarded for gallantry ‘in the face of the enemy’ and can be presented to a person of any military rank in any service and to civilians under military command-although no civilian has received the award since 1879.

Want to read more?

This is a premium article and requires an active subscription.

Existing subscriber? Sign in now

No subscription?

Pick one of our introductory offers